Supportive Community

Community Awards

Celebrating Accomplished SMLS Community Members

In recognition of the dedicated service and accomplishments of our community members, SMLS honours members of the school community with three prestigious awards.

Please consider nominating a worthy SMLS community member for one of our community awards. Nominations for the 2024-25 academic year will close January 31, 2025.
  • Outstanding Alumna Award - recognize an alumna who has made significant achievements in their field and have made a positive impact on the local, national or global community. 
  • The Life Governor Award - honour the extraordinary achievements of an individual who has demonstrated the values of SMLS, had a longstanding commitment to the school, is an excellent role model and ambassador for the school, and has made a difference in the lives of others. 
For questions or more information, please email

Life Governor

List of 2 items.

  • Life Governor Award

    The Life Governor Award, which is the school’s highest honour and is awarded bi-annually, honours extraordinary achievements of individuals who have demonstrated the values of SMLS, have had a longstanding commitment to the school, are excellent role models and ambassadors for the school, and have made a difference in the lives of others.

    Daniela Morra Hampton-Davies '89
    has been named the recipient of the 2024 Life Governor Award.  
    Daniela joined SMLS as a student in 1977 and has been an active member of our school community ever since. Daniela is an executive coach and governance professional with an outstanding record in business development, advisory and culture transformation. As the Principal and Co-Founder of Balsam Advisory Group, she provides advisory services for investor relations, capital markets and governance.  Daniela has held senior executive roles globally in both corporate and governance settings, has built dynamic and high-performing teams, and developed and executed strong strategic growth plans. At SMLS, Daniela was an active and long-time volunteer through our Board of Directors and Parent Association. Daniela brings an impressive and extensive list of community contributions including former Board Chair of Sheridan College and Oakville Senior Citizens Residence, and former Board Member at Start2Finish and the Oakville Community Foundation. Daniela and her husband Blake remain active members of the SMLS and Oakville community and are proud parents of four children, Julia ‘20 Catherine ‘22, Victoria ‘26 and Alexander.

    Please note that the Life Governor Award is presented bi-annually and will be awarded again in 2025-26.
  • Life Governor Recipients

    2024 - Daniela Morra Hampton-Davies '89
    2022 - Caroline Hogwood
    2020 - Colleen McMorrow
    2018 - Ann Veale
    2016 - Mother Emily Ayckbowm (posthumously)
               Ruth Lightbourn (posthumously)
               Sister Anita Cook CSC
               June Cockwell
               Donald Pangman

Outstanding Alumna

List of 2 items.

  • Outstanding Alumna Award

    The Outstanding Alumna Award is awarded annually and recognizes alumnae for significant achievements in their field and positive impact on the local, national or global communities, while upholding the principles and values of SMLS.

    The 2023-24 recipient is Miranda Plant Byers '03. 
    iranda is an award-winning actress, and producer of theatre and film. Her work centers around stories created by women which promote equality and diversity, and advocacy of women in the arts. She works with several not-for-profit organizations and amongst being the recipient of several grants for women in film, she was also recognized with the "Editha Award for Women's Empowerment" in 2021 by the Hudson International Film Festival. She has been a judge for several film festivals including the 2021 Emmy Awards, and mentors aspiring artists with StateraArts. As an alumna, Miranda has remained connected and supportive of SMLS and her fellow alumnae. She is the mom of two boys, William and Andrew, and currently lives in New York City with her husband Todd.
  • Outstanding Alumna Recipients

    2024 - Miranda Plant Byers '03
    2023 - Natalie Jenner '87
    2022 - Sarah Baeumler '95
    2021 - Suzanne Duncan '79
    2020 - Dr. Lauren TRIBE Briens '87
    2019 - Dr. Karolyn SMARDZ Frost '75
    2018 - Joanne BEAUCHAMP Stacey '78
    2017 - Olwen BARROW Davies '58
    2016 - Marion Bethel '71
    2015 - Dr. Emily Moore '87
    2014 - Christie Henderson '89
    2013 - Janet Stewart '60
    2012 - Melanie Aitken '84

Distinguished Service

List of 2 items.

  • Distinguished Service Award

    The Nadine Farran-Gatti Distinguished Service Award celebrates and honours SMLS volunteers for their significant contributions over many years to our school community. Nadine Farran-Gatti was a member of the SMLS Board of Governors, parent of an SMLS alumna and longtime volunteer who passed away suddenly on October 23, 2021. Nadine was a recipient of this award in 2017 and embodied all that this award celebrates. In recognition and appreciation of all that she gave to the SMLS community, this award is proudly named in her honour. Her memory and legacy lives on at SMLS as we honour her contribution to the school through this award each year.

    The 2023-24 Nadine Farran-Gatti Distinguished Service Award recipient is Jackie Maunula. Since 2016, Jackie has been an enthusiastic volunteer and leader. She has held countless roles through the Parent Association including Gala Co-Chair, and Learning Commons Convenor where she is broadening our Library’s inventory of books for current and future students to enjoy. Through her extensive contributions and unwavering dedication, Jackie has been the driving force behind many of our community events and initiatives, including Millie Christmas, Movie Night, Parent Socials and Junior School Bingo, just to name a few. Her passion for our school community is infectious and her efforts have brought joy and cherished memories to the entire SMLS community. Jackie and her husband Ryan have two daughters at SMLS, Charlotte ‘31 and Lily ‘32.
  • Distinguished Service Recipients

    2023 - Doug Jenkinson
    2022 - Kenneth Rogerson
    2021 - Stephanie Kennedy '02
    2020 - Penny Olson
    2019 - Cara Garvey
    2018 - Amanda Ashton-Aquino
    2017 - Nadine Farran-Gatti
    2016 - Dr. Gilbert Lai
    2015 - Judith Nunn
    2014 - Dianne Lemieux
    2013 - Karen Holloway
    2012 - Cherilyn Carson
    2011 - Janet Pickell
    2010 - Andra Carpino